Amann Studios ™


Tonstudio – Christoph Amann

Kai Fagaschinksi & Burkhars Stangl – Musik – Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht (Erstwhile)

Burkhard Stangl and Kai Fagaschinski both are masters at fluidly combining melodicism and abstraction. Musik-Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht showcases their work as a duo, carefully composed pieces intertwined with judiciously placed field recordings and meticulously sequenced to create a record that is more than the sum of its parts.
Stangl explores the full range of the guitar, from quiet, melodic plucking to walls of noisy drones. This range and adaptability has allowed him to work in a wide range of contexts, from the collective projects Polwechsel (until 2004), Efzeg, and SSSD, in duos and trio with Christof Kurzmann and Taku Sugimoto, as well as many others. Musik-Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht is also his sixth release for Erstwhile, following Wrapped Islands (with Polwechsel and Fennesz), eh (with dieb13), and three releases from schnee, his remarkable duo with Kurzmann. Their most recent release, neuschnee, was released earlier in 2009, and along with Musik-Ein Portrat in Sehnsucht, mark his first new recorded work in some years.
Fagaschinski has leapt to prominence in the improv world over the last few years, with well-received duo projects such as Los Glissandinos (w/Klaus Filip), The International Nothing (w/Michael Thieke) and Kommando Raumschiff Zitrone (w/Kurzmann). His self-taught command of the clarinet is both subtly lyrical and thoroughly modern. This is his second Erstwhile release, with the first being 2008’s stunning The Magic I.D.-till my breath gives out, on ErstPop.

Music – references by category

Online mastering – references by category

  • CD/Vinyl mastering
  • Downloadable audio formats
  • DDP creation/editing
  • Online delivery/ MD5 verification

Selected productions

  • D&A Connection – Live “Schau auf di” Vol 2&3

    ptx 20&21 © 2020 produced by Uli soyka PANTAU-X Recordings: Reinhard Buchta, Christoph Amann, Alexander Yannilos Mix/Mastering: Reinhard Buchta

  • Reinhard Fuchs – Mania

    © 2016 0015001KAI 003 (3) 2 Nov 2002 (4) 22 April 2005 Recording Venue: (1) Wiener Konzerthaus, Mozart-Saal (2) Helmut-List-Halle, Graz (3) Wiener Konzerthaus, Großer Saal (4) Theatersaal Witten Release: May 2016 Mix (1), Postproduction 2 – 4, CD-Premaster: Amann Studios Vienna  review